Some of you may think that all I do is talk about cancer, think about cancer and campaign about it too. Well your probably right, I do but for good reason. When you go from minding your own business and living your life to be giving a life changing diagnosis, your life changes whether you like it or not! I wasn’t going to let cancer beat me and decided to do something about it. Regardless of the excellent treatment I received, I knew I needed more and that’s where the charity I support comes in.
I can’t praise Friends of the Cancer Centre enough for what they’ve done for me. You would think after everything I went through that I would want to put cancer behind me but anything but. I do what I do because it’s the least I can do to give back to those that helped me. In fact it makes me proud to be named a charity ambassador.

Charities come in all shapes and sizes but I firmly believe this small and caring charity that helped me is the best.
It’s hard to describe just what they did. I think it’s more to do with those that work there. Each and every one of them dedicates their lives to help patients with cancer.
I’ve always had the opinion that nurses are right up there at the top of the tree of special individuals. They do a job which we fail to thank them enough for and those at the cancer centre I rate the same. This is why I want to use this medium to try and do just that, say thankyou. How do I say thankyou to so many people? I do what I do. Yes you may be sick and tired of my constant chat on social media and sharing cancer related stories never mind the fundraising efforts. I do all this to say thankyou, to try and give others like me a better chance of life. It’s not much to ask. I enjoy what I do but also know what so many others did in giving up their time for me.

So much of us take for granted what we have. If we all managed to give up even an hour a week to a good cause the world would be an even better place!
Know one says we have to give all our money away to charity to help. Of course it provides much needed services etc but volunteering your time is as important as anything. That’s what blows me away about the charities staff. It’s not just a 9-5 job for them. They give so much more than that. Many a day they work right through to 8-9 at night! How many of us can say that we do the same for no extra pay? That tells me how special the charity is! They go the extra mile, they believe in their ideas. They see the positivity of the support they recieve. They see what their effort and time can achieve and that’s why they care so much. If you only do one thing today please check the charity out
http://www.friendsofthecancercentre.com
The more people that can be made aware of these amazing people the better!